español | italiano | english | français

Antonio Álamo
Antonio Álamo
Born in Cordoba in 1964. He graduated in law from the Universidad de Sevilla in 1988. It can be said that his drama education was essentially a practical one: first as a co-director and playwright in the El Traje de Artaud company, then working as an assistant director and playwright with some directors such as Alfonso Zurro, Jesús Cracio and many others. In 1995, he set up a drama course at the Royal Court Theatre of London. During the academic year 1998-99 he lived in Rome, at the Academia de España, where he wrote the novel Nata soy.
He is the author of the following plays: La oreja izquierda de Van Gogh (1991), Agujeros (1992), Los borrachos [The Drunkards] (1993), Pasos (1995), Los enfermos (1996), Grande como una tumba (1999) and Caos (2000).
As a novelist he published: Breve historia de la inmortalidad (1996), Una buena idea (1998), ¿Quién se ha meado en mi cama? (1999) and Nata soy (2001).
His works have been translated into English, French, Italian, Catalan and Arabic.
He received several awards: Marqués de Bradomín 1991, Tirso de Molina 1993, Born de Teatre 1996, Ercilla 1996, Palencia 1996 and Caja de España de Teatro Breve 2000.
His plays are performed in Mexico, Venezuela, Argentina and France.
Available titles
Los borrachos
Gli ubriachi
The Drunkards